HOLIDAYS - ALL MARKETS

All NYSE markets observe U.S. holidays as listed below for 2017, 2018 and 2019.

Please note that although NYSE Arca Equities follows the same holiday schedule as the NYSE, on days when the NYSE closes early, NYSE Arca Equities hours may vary due to its extended trading day. Review the NYSE Arca Equities section below for more details.

TRADING DAYS

HOLIDAY

2017

2018

2019

New Years Day

January 1
(Observed Monday, January 2)

Monday, January 1

Tuesday, January 1

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day

Monday, January 16

Monday, January 15

Monday, January 21

Washington's Birthday

Monday, February 20

Monday, February 19

Monday, February 18

Good Friday

Friday, April 14

Friday, March 30

Friday, April 19

Memorial Day

Monday, May 29

Monday, May 28

Monday, May 27

Independence Day

Tuesday, July 4*

Wednesday, July 4*

Thursday, July 4*

Labor Day

Monday, September 4

Monday, September 3

Monday, September 2

Thanksgiving Day

Thursday, November 23**

Thursday, November 22**

Thursday, November 28**

Christmas

Monday, December 25

Tuesday, December 25***

Wednesday, December 25***

* Each market will close early at 1:00 p.m. (1:15 p.m. for eligible options) on Monday, July 3, 2017, Tuesday, July 3, 2018, and Wednesday, July 3, 2019. Crossing Session orders will be accepted beginning at 1:00 p.m. for continuous executions until 1:30 p.m. on this date. All times are Eastern Time.

** Each market will close early at 1:00 p.m. (1:15 p.m. for eligible options) on Friday, November 24, 2017, Friday, November 23, 2018, and Friday, November 29, 2019 (the day after Thanksgiving). Crossing Session orders will be accepted beginning at 1:00 p.m. for continuous executions until 1:30 p.m. on these dates. All times are Eastern Time.

*** Each market will close early at 1:00 p.m. (1:15 p.m. for eligible options) on Monday, December 24, 2018 and Tuesday, December 24, 2019. Crossing Session orders will be accepted beginning at 1:00 p.m. for continuous executions until 1:30 p.m. on this date. All times are Eastern Time.

NYSE

Pre-Opening Session: 7:00 AM ET

  • Orders can be entered and will be queued until the Opening Auction at 9:30 AM ET.

Core Trading Session: 9:30 AM TO 4:00 PM ET

  • 9:30 AM ET - Core Open Auction
  • 3:45 PM to 4:00 PM ET - 123(c) Closing Imbalance Period
  • 4:00 PM ET - Closing Auction

NYSE American Equities

Pre-Opening Session: 6:30 AM

  • Orders can be entered and will be queued until the Early Open Auction at 7:00 AM ET.

Early Trading Session: 7:00 AM to 9:30 AM ET

  • 6:59 AM to 7:00 AM ET - Early Open Auction Imbalance Freeze Period
  • 7:00 AM ET - Early Open Auction
  • 9:29:55 AM to 9:30 AM ET - Core Open Auction Imbalance Freeze Period

Core Trading Session: 9:30 AM TO 4:00 PM ET

  • 9:30 a.m. ET - Core Open Auction
  • 3:50 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. ET - Closing Auction Imbalance Freeze Period
  • 4:00 p.m. ET - Closing Auction

Late Trading Session: 4:00 PM to 8:00 PM ET

NYSE ARCA EQUITIES

Pre-Opening Session: 3:30 AM

  • Orders can be entered and will be queued until the Early Open Auction at 4:00 AM ET.

Early Trading Session: 4:00 AM to 9:30 AM ET

  • 3:59 AM to 4:00 AM ET - Early Open Auction Imbalance Freeze Period
  • 4:00 AM ET - Early Open Auction
  • 9:29:55 AM to 9:30 AM ET - Core Open Auction Imbalance Freeze Period

Core Trading Session: 9:30 AM TO 4:00 PM ET

  • 9:30 a.m. ET - Core Open Auction
  • 3:59 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. ET - Closing Auction Imbalance Freeze Period
  • 4:00 p.m. ET - Closing Auction

Late Trading Session: 4:00 PM to 8:00 PM ET

NYSE American Options

OPTIONS CLEARING CORPORATION EXPIRATION CALENDAR

Equity Options

9:30 a.m. ET - 4:00 p.m. ET

ETF Options

9:30 a.m. ET - 4:00 p.m. ET

ETF Exceptions:
DBA, DBB, DBC, DBO, DIA, EEM, IWM, IWN, IWO, KBE, KRE, MDY,
MOO, QQQ, SLX, SPY, SVXY, UUP, UNG, UVXY, VIXY, XHB, XLB, XLE, 
XLF, XLI, XLK, XLP, XLU, XLV, XLY, XME, XRT

9:30 a.m. ET - 4:15 p.m. ET

Index Options

9:30 a.m. ET - 4:00 p.m. ET

Index Exceptions:
MNX, NDX

9:30 a.m. ET - 4:15 p.m. ET

ETN Options:
GAZ, OIL, VXX, VXZ

9:30 a.m. ET - 4:15 p.m. ET

NYSE ARCA OPTIONS

OPTIONS CLEARING CORPORATION EXPIRATION CALENDAR


Equity Options

9:30 a.m. ET - 4:00 p.m. ET

ETF Options

9:30 a.m. ET - 4:00 p.m. ET

ETF Exceptions:
DBA, DBB, DBC, DBO, DBS, DIA, EEM, EFA, IWM, IWN, IWO, IWV,
KBE, KRE, MDY, MOO, OEF, QQQ, SLX, SPY, SVXY, UNG, UUP,
UVXY, VIXY, XHB, XLB, XLE, XLF, XLI, XLK, XLP, XLU, XLV, XLY, XME, XRT

9:30 a.m. ET - 4:15 p.m. ET

Index Options

9:30 a.m. ET - 4:00 p.m. ET

Index Exceptions:
MNX, NDX

9:30 a.m. ET - 4:15 p.m. ET

ETN Options:
AMJ, GAZ, INP, JJC, MLPN, OIL, VXX, VXZ,

9:30 a.m. ET - 4:15 p.m. ET

NYSE BONDS

  • Early Trading 4:00 a.m. ET — 8:00 a.m. ET
  • Core Trading 8:00 a.m. ET — 5:00 p.m. ET
  • Late Trading 5:00 p.m. ET — 8:00 p.m. ET

Bond Auctions

The NYSE conducts two daily bond auctions – an Opening Bond Auction at 4:00 a.m. ET and a Core Bond Auction at 8:00 a.m. ET. Orders not executed in either auction become eligible for continuous trading immediately after the auction.